Advisory Board

Lucius E. Burch, III,
Member, Advisory Board


Lucius Burch is chairman of Burch Investment Group. He began his career at Morgan Guaranty Trust Company and in 1968 joined Massey Investment Company, the predecessor of Massey Burch Investment Group. Burch has extensive experience in management consulting, corporate finance and mergers and acquisitions. He has served on a number of public and private company boards, including seven NYSE companies.

Anthony J. Busa,
Member, Advisory Board

Tony Busa retired as President and CEO of Progressive Plastics in 2010, following a 44-year career with the privately held plastic blow molding company specializing in consumer goods packaging. He has extensive experience in manufacturing and sales and marketing in the plastics industry. He serves on several privately held company and non-profit boards and is a current member of the Worlds Presidents' Organization, Cleveland chapter.

Joseph G. Corsaro,
Member, Advisory Board


Joe Corsaro is the owner and managing partner of the Cleveland, Ohio law firm, Corsaro & Associates Co., LPA. He has nearly 30 years of experience as an attorney advising businesses and high net-worth individuals on various tax and business planning matters. He received the coveted designation as Certified Federal Tax Specialist from the Ohio State Bar Association and has been recognized as an Ohio "Super Lawyer" for the past four years. He frequently lectures on a variety of tax and business-related topics and serves on various advisory boards. Before he began practicing law, he was with the accounting firm of Ernst & Young. Corsaro is a graduate of the Virginia Military Institute and received his law degree from the Cleveland-Marshall College of Law.

Harry R. Jacobson, M.D.,
Member, Advisory Board


Dr. Jacobson is former Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs at Vanderbilt University and CEO of Vanderbilt University Medical Center (VUMC). While serving as CEO, VUMC revenues grew from $750 million to $2.5 billion, was recognized as a U.S. News and World Report honor-roll hospital, and named as a “most-wired” hospital. In addition to his duties as CEO, he participated in the oversight of technology transfer operations, thus resulting in the creation of over two dozen companies. He has founded or co-founded 10 companies. Most notable are Contact Software, later acquired by Symantec; Renal Care Group later acquired by Fresenius; Ambulatory Services of America; and CeloNova Biosciences. Dr. Jacobson has been both a formal and informal advisor to several venture and private equity funds and formerly served on the Board of Directors of Kinetic Concepts and Merck.

Whitson Lowe, M.D.,
Member, Advisory Board


Whitson Lowe, M.D. is a Senior Partner at Urology Associates PC, specializing in cancer surgery for prostate and bladder. He graduated summa cum laude from Yale College in mathematics, and received the Bucket Award on graduation from Vanderbilt Medical School in 1986. He completed his residency at Yale University, where he helped pioneer bladder replacement surgery for advanced bladder cancer. He has privileges at Centennial Medical Center and Baptist Hospital, and he is also a clinical instructor at Vanderbilt Medical School. He is a founding partner of Cimplify, a physician management and IT solutions company for specialty medical practices, and he is past president of The Urology Surgery Center. He is a founding member of PLC Properties and Urosite, which develop and manage commercial real estate in middle Tennessee. He is a physician speaker for Pfizer and Allergan.

David B. Johnson,
Member, Advisory Board


David Johnson is a private investor and entrepreneur with over 20 years of experience in investment management and research. Johnson was the Partner-in-Charge of the Investment Strategy Group at J.C. Bradford & Co. during which time client assets grew to in excess of $40 billion. While at J.C. Bradford, he also served as the Director of Non-Proprietary Research and was on the firm’s Investment Policy Committee. After J.C. Bradford & Co. was sold to PaineWebber in 2000, Johnson co-founded PowellJohnson, Inc., a private asset management firm and served as President and COO until the firm was acquired by Stifel, Nicolaus & Company in 2004.

Raymond Pirtle, Jr.,
Member, Advisory Board


Raymond Pirtle has more than 40 years of experience in the financial services industry, having served as a general banker at J.C. Bradford & Co. and Equitable Securities Corp., and was a founder of Avondale Partners, LLC. In 2005, he left Avondale to form Claridge Company, LLC, which represents $50 to $300 million size corporations. He currently serves on a number of private and public company boards.

H. Moore Rhett,
Member, Advisory Board


Moore Rhett is a Senior Partner with Hall Capital Partners. He has over 30 years of experience in commercial and investment banking. He served as Chairman of Augusta Capital, was the Chief Credit Officer for the Tennessee operations of SunTrust Bank and was Managing Director of Corporate and Investment Banking and Risk Management for a variety of industries in Florida, Tennessee and several contiguous states.

DeWitt C. Thompson, V,
Member, Advisory Board


De Thompson currently serves as the CEO of Thompson Machinery, the Caterpillar dealer for Middle and West Tennessee and North Mississippi. He founded PureSafety in 1999, which was acquired by Underwriters Laboratories in 2011. He is Chairman of the Board of PHG Energy, partner and board member of the Nashville Predators and a board member of Wealth Access and the Tennessee Road Builders Association.

S. Fleming Wilt,
Member, Advisory Board


Fleming Wilt is the President of Christie Cookie Company. A 1991 graduate of Vanderbilt University, Wilt later received his MBA from the Owen School of Management at Vanderbilt in 2000. He is currently a board member of the 100 Club of Nashville and the Golf Club of Tennessee. He is also a member of the Young Presidents’ Organization and a member of the Board of Trust of The Memorial Foundation.

Keith G. Wolken,
Member, Advisory Board


Keith Wolken is the Chairman and CEO of SMS Holdings Company, a family of seven service companies operating nationally in 47 states, Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands. He has been with the company since 1991, taking over as CEO and Chairman in 2004. He has served on the board of the American Heart Association since 2005 and is a past Chairman.

Anthony J. BusaMember, Advisory Board

Tony Busa retired as president and CEO of Progressive Plastics in 2010, following a 44-year career with the privately held plastic blow molding company specializing in consumer good packaging. He has extensive experience in manufacturing and sales and marketing in the plastic industry. He serves on several privately held company and non-profit boards and is a current member of the Worlds Presidents’ Organization, Cleveland chapter.

^ Back to Top